Three buildings have stood on what is now the cemetery, and all have vanished.
Firstly, there was a Quaker's Meeting House built in 1759 for the Quakers of Laugharne who'd previously walked to the moor between St Clears
and Laugharne for their services.
The Quaker congregation dwindled, and the Rev. Mark Evans negotiated the site for use by the Congregationalists who moved from the Bache (featured elsewhere). The Philadelphia chapel was built by 'Independents' in 1809 and this site first had a meeting house for the Society of Friends (Quakers). It is shown on the 1842 Tithe Map as 'Old Quakers Chapel and yard'. It was rebuilt as Providence in 1850, which is the building you can see in the centre of the above pic. It then came to be known as Old Cliff Chapel, on what was then Cliff Street.
Today the site is a graveyard affording stunning views over the estuary, but the chapel continued in use until the 1890s and
was still standing in 1918.
However, in 1894 the congregation had moved into a new church, on King St, so perhaps it became a meeting hall or store house.
The chapel would have been just inside the gates.
Due to subsidence, they eventually knocked the church down. When the church was demolished, some of the stone was used to build the rugby club changing room. Since it was knocked down graves have started to take its place.
There was a penniless farm worker and occasionally poet called Thomas (not that one!) who would write a short verse for the gravestone if required and be paid in cheese, bread or coal. It is said the Welsh pay more respect to the dead than the living.
copyright © 2021 Laugharne Lines
all rights reserved